Massive Planter Stand

Standard

So over the winter, I discovered I have a gardening problem. I really, really, really like planting things. Since I’m in between houses and at my parents for the moment, I wanted to keep all my herbs and lettuces in pots for easy transplant and so that I can bring them inside during the winter, assuming my new house will have room for an indoor greenhouse haha. So I needed somewhere to put all my planters that would be out of the way but still get sun and be close enough to the house that I could go snip a few herbs for dinner. Thus began my disgusting process of hauling rotting 2×6’s (complete with nasty bugs) and most everything else with the lawn mower across the yard. I’m pretty happy with the end result and I did it all myself! Except for cutting the 4×4’s as I am still not allowed to use a saw.

Here is the end result!

Planter Stand

Planter Stand

I’m pretty proud of it. Here is a picture of just the frame

Planter Stand

It’s made out of 2 stair risers, 3 2×6’s, and a couple spare 4×4 posts. You could definitely just use 4 stair risers if you have them or want it to look nicer, but I wanted to use what I had. That also meant using nasty, rotten wood. Hence all the 4×4 supports. I also am only using plastic planters on it right now just in case. My dad did test it and walk up it like stairs, and it’s still standing so that’s a plus. He wouldn’t walk on the top shelf though as that one was pretty iffy.

This project took a lot more work that it looks. The original stair risers were already connected to stairs so I had to take them apart and then get the new (rotten) 2×6’s. I could have used 2×8’s since they are 8 inches deep, but I didn’t have those available. Once I had connected all of the 2×6’s, I had my dad cut 4×4’s to the height needed and then just screwed them in place. It is free standing as it is just a temporary fixture until I get my own place.

Planter Stand

Ignore the broken bird bath in the bottom corner. I owe my mom a new one since I dropped this one moving it out of the way. Whoops!

The sad part is that my dad didn’t understand why it had to be so long. 8 feet?! He thought that was ridiculous. Until I filled it up. And still have 5 planters on the deck, three in the kitchen, and a decorative one on the pool deck. In addition to what I put in the vegetable garden. We will be eating good this year! Oh and I still have basil seeds to plant and some weird mini pumpkins on a stick. The gardening never ends! At least I don’t have to weed 😉

Leave a comment