Swedish Meatballs

Standard

Swedish meatballs is something I used to love growing up. Well, I think so anyways. I remember having Swedish meatballs but I don’t remember what they taste like. It could just be the meatballs we bought from Sam’s were called Swedish meatballs. Point is meat+pasta+sauce is good in any combination. I did alter the recipe a little as I was missing a few ingredients but they turned out super tasty!

Swedish Meatballs

Original Recipe

Swedish Meatballs

1lb Ground beef

1/4c Bread crumbs

1 Egg Yolk

1/8t Nutmeg

Dash of Cinnamon

1T EVOO

2T Butter

1/6c Flour

2c Beef Broth

3/8c Plain Greek Yogurt (I subbed this for sour cream so feel freeĀ to use either)

1. Combine ground beef, bread crumbs, nutmeg, cinnamon, and egg yolk until well mixed

Swedish Meatballs

2. Form into balls, I made 12

Swedish Meatballs

3. Heat 1T EVOO in pan and brown meatballs on all sides

Swedish Meatballs

Make sure meatballs are mostly cooked before you remove them as they will only cook in the sauce a little bit

4. Remove meatballs

5. Melt butter in same pan and scrape any bit of delicious beef that have stuck. Stir in flour and stir until well combined.

6. Stir in beef broth and bring to a simmer. Let it simmer for a few minutes to thicken it up

Swedish Meatballs

7. Add in Greek yogurt and stir until it is all mixed up then add your meatballs back to the sauce to coat and warm back up and finish cooking.

Swedish Meatballs

You’ll notice there are now only 6 meatballs, I left the boy six of them to eat with spaghetti since he doesn’t like cream sauce. I’m so nice =]

Traditionally you can eat this over egg noodles or mashed potatoes. I chose spaghetti solely because I was heating up spaghetti for the boy otherwise I would have used egg noodles.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

