Parmesan Spaghetti Squash

Standard

I have only eaten spaghetti squash once before in my life and I don’t really remember it. I don’t remember loving it or hating it so I’ve been on the lookout for it to try again and I finally found some. So I went onto pinterest and found my Parmesan Spaghetti Squash recipe and realized it didn’t tell me how to  cook the squash. Just how to flavor it once it was cooked. Well back onto pinterest as I distinctively remember my dad baking the squash in the oven. Well I found the directions and the first was cut off both ends and cut spaghetti squash in half, lengthwise. No problem! Got out my huge knife I got for Christmas and when I tried to cut it? Nothing happened. I made a small indent in the skin. Fast forward to me 15 minutes later giving up on cutting this thing in half when I find a way to roast it whole. Lifesaver. I go to take the sticker off and it says microwave 1 minute before cutting to soften the skin. Of course. I threw it in the microwave and it cut right in half. Wish I had seen that sooner. Point being, it was pretty tasty and I will defs be trying it again soon.

Parmesan Spaghetti Squash

Original Recipe

Cooking Squash Directions

Parmesan Spaghetti Squash

1 Spaghetti Squash

EVOO

Garlic salt and pepper

1/4c Parmesan cheese

3T Butter

2T Minced garlic

2t Herbs de Provence

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2. Pop squash in microwave for 1 minute to soften, cut in half lengthwise. Remove the gross pumpkin like stuff in the middle

3. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place flesh side down on baking sheet and bake 40-60 minutes depending on the size of your squash

4. Once squash is fork tender, scrape out the innards so that they look like spaghetti and empty into large frying pan

5. Turn heat to medium and add butter, garlic, parmesan cheese , herbs de Provence, and salt and pepper if necessary and sauté until squash is as tender and flavored to your liking. I may have melted more butter on mine right before I ate it, just an idea =]

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Food for the Week =] | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

  2. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Sauce | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

