Roasted Tomatoes and Garlic

Standard

I always get more tomatoes than necessary at the farmers market and was looking to try something new. I had a recipe for a BLT with Roasted Tomatoes and thought I would give that a try. So I started googling how to roast tomatoes and decided on a lower oven temperature for a longer amount of time instead of a higher one for a shorter period. I also then picked up some garlic while I was at the grocery store as I was running low on my jarred minced garlic and figured I would give roasting my own a try. Let me tell you. It is effing tedious. I saw all these beautiful recipes about roasting garlic and how delicious it is. NO ONE TELLS YOU ABOUT PEELING THAT SHIT. I should have taken a picture of all the peel once I was done. I had 6 bulbs of garlic and it took me probably an hour to peel it all, no joke. Then once I popped it in the oven with the tomatoes, within 10 minutes our house smelt like an Italian Jesus. If Jesus were made of garlic and tomatoes. Seriously, I wish they made candles that smelt like that! I used half grape tomatoes and half regular tomatoes. The regular tomatoes I sliced and the grape tomatoes I just halved. Here they are all roasted and delicious!

Oven Roasted Tomatoes and Garlic

Roasted Tomatoes and Garlic

Tomatoes, sliced 1/4″ thick

Garlic, peeled

EVOO

Salt and pepper

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees

2. Wipe baking dish with EVOO to prevent sticking

3. Arrange tomatoes in a single layer and sprinkle with salt and pepper

4. Arrange garlic cloves everywhere and drizzle with EVOO

5. Let sit in the oven for an hour and check on them. One of my trays was done at this point so I took it out but the other was farther from the heat source so I let them cook a little longer

IMG_20140119_183207(1)

This is what I started with and this was the end result

Oven Roasted Tomatoes and Garlic

I ate the garlic and tomatoes right off the tray =]

UPDATE! I roasted some more roma tomatoes and just sliced them in half this time. They took a little longer to roast, but turned out just as tasty so just watch your time depending on how thick your tomatoes are =]

IMG_20140514_171258889

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: BL(roasted)T | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

  2. Pingback: Food for the Week =] | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

  3. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Sauce | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

