Thyme and Rosemary Roast

Standard

I make roasts all the time in my crockpot and I didn’t even get to eat all but a bit of this one. The boy ate some for dinner before I got home late from work one night and the next night when he asked if we had any leftovers and I said roast, he just looked at me and smiled and said, “No we don’t”. I was so confused until I realized he ate the rest of it for lunch that day. 1.5 lbs of meat, gone. Oh well. He did save me the potato I cooked for myself in there so at least I got that. Normally when I cook roasts I put all sorts of veggies in there: onions, mushrooms, carrots, potatoes. This time I just did a potato since I was being lazy but feel free to add whichever type of vegetables tickle your fancy =]

Thyme and Rosemary Roast

Thyme and Rosemary Roast

1.5lb Roast, I use chuck or whatever’s on sale

1-14.5oz Can diced tomatoes, if you use anything cut smaller it will end up more spaghetti sauce like, you mostly just want the juices and flavors of the tomatoes

1 Potato, cut in big slices

2 Bay leaves

1t Thyme

1t Rosemary

1t Garlic

1/4c Merlot

1. Arrange sliced potatoes on bottom of crockpot, this will keep the roast elevated and not burn to the bottom. If adding other veggies, squish them around the side of the roast

2. Put roast in Crockpot and sprinkle with thyme, rosemary, and garlic. Push down on the herbs a little so they won’t slide right off of the roast. Pop the two bay leave right next to the roast

3. Add can of tomatoes, undrained, and merlot. Cook on low 8-10 hours.

Leave a Reply

