Sausage Bolognese

Standard

Can you tell I’ve been writing posts all night? They are slowly getting shorter and shorter. I suppose if you read the new ones first they will get longer as you go though. Oh well, good luck. When the boy and I were on our way to get the dog and his boat from his family after our trip to MN (see pictures here), we stopped at a local supermarket that grinds their own sausage in house. Holy crap did it smell delicious. Way better than the prepackaged stuff. After salivating the entire way home and successfully keeping the dog out of it (he was too scared we would forget about him and leave him somewhere for a few days again), I made bolognese. Except the special way. I have never been a huge fan of meat sauce but I figured I would try it with sausage and see how I like it. I am also going through my pinterest from the bottom up and had this recipe pinned forever ago and had yet to get around to it. The sausage I used was originally in a casing so I just squeezed it out. It was green onion flavor and being that I saw whole chunks of green onion, I omitted the onion from the recipe so feel free to add it back in if you like.

Sausage Bolognese

Original Recipe

Sausage Bolognese

3/4 Package of whole wheat egg noodles, or however much feed two people

1lb Ground sausage

1/2t Red pepper flakes

2T Minced garlic

1/2c Merlot

1-14.5oz Can crushed tomatoes

1T Italian seasoning

1. Bring water to boil and cook noodles according to directions, drain

2. Brown sausage with red pepper flakes and garlic

3. Add merlot, tomatoes, and Italian seasonings and let simmer for a while. The sauce will thicken slightly and take on more flavor of the sausage the longer it simmers

4. Toss drained pasta with sausage sauce and toss to coat

Sausage Bolognese

mmmmmmmm =]

 

 

Leave a Reply

