Lemon Chicken Orzo Stew

Standard

This is my first time trying orzo. I am insanely impressed. It is super filling and delicious. This soup wasn’t my super favorite as it wasn’t different enough from chicken noodle so it just wanted chicken noodle soup instead. I think if I used different veggies or added a different base I would like it more. The boy liked it a lot more and finished off a massive bowl so I figure it was worthy enough to post.

Lemon Chicken Orzo Soup

Original Recipe

Lemon Chicken Orzo Stew

1/2lb Chicken Breasts, cubed

2 Carrots, diced

1 Celery stalk, diced

1/2 Onion, diced

3c Chicken broth

1 1/2T Lemon juice

1/2c Orzo

Sprinkle of tarragon

1. I started mine in the crockpot so I would not have to wait for the veggies to cook once I got home. I put the chicken broth, carrots, onion, and celery on low in my crock for about 6 hours. You could also just start this in the pot you would cook the rest of the soup, just cook until tender.

2. Once veggies are soft, transfer to a pot on stove and bring to a boil. Add diced chicken and orzo and cook until pasta is tender and chicken is cooked.

3. Add in lemon juice and tarragon. Give it a good stir and add lemon juice or tarragon to your liking.

 

Leave a Reply

