Black Friday/Beer Cheese Soup!

Standard

So this year Black Friday was insane. I worked a total of 15ish hours. Doesn’t sound tooooo awful. WELL. I worked Thanksgiving day from 8pm until Black Friday morning at 5 at my retail job. Then I went shopping for a few hours so that I wouldn’t fall asleep (got some Christmas movies and a super cozy body pillow for when I got off work later) before I went to work at 8:30am at my other job. Luckily my salon job has awesome managers and even though I was supposed to work until 6pm, they let me go at one since we weren’t busy. I was awake for approx. 30 hours. This was only the second all nighter I have pulled in my entire life. I felt pretty accomplished. Then I slept for 16 hours. It was glorious.

My point is, at my retail job, we potluck on Black Friday. There is no way that any of us could make it to the food court and back within 30 minutes. Since I had my new crock pot I decided to make beer cheese soup which is awesome. It’s my favorite soup that my mom makes EVER. I am going to post the original recipe quantities at the bottom but since I made it to fit in my 6qt crock pot, I will also include those. DO NOT try to make this in a 5 qt. You will have to scoop it out. I did that last year, please learn from my mistakes.

PS This is my mother’s coveted recipe. I cannot honestly not think of a function where she has made this and not been asked for the recipe. Just saying. To make this vegetarian, swap the chicken broth/bouillon with veggie and it’s perfect. My sister is vegetarian and that is how we make it for her. I honestly can’t tell the difference between the two.

Beer Cheese Soup

Beer Cheese Soup (6qts)

4c Chicken Broth

24oz Beer, I used Michelob Golden whatever. In the huge can from Walmart

1T Chicken bouillon

1 1/2c Onion, diced

1 1/2c Celery, diced

3c Carrots, sliced

6c Potatoes, diced, I leave the skin on but you can peel if you prefer

1 1/2lb Velveeta, cubed, the smaller the cube, the faster it melts

2cans Cream of mushroom soup

1. In your crockpot or stock pot, dump all of your veggies, broth, beer, and chicken bouillon. Let cook until soft. I set my crock on low and let it go a few hours. If using the stove, it takes 30-40 minutes. Go by if the potatoes and carrots are soft as they take the longest to cook.

2. Add velveeta and cream of mushroom soup. Stir until melted. That’s all.

Beer Cheese Soup

This does freeze pretty well as we used to freeze it all the time. I recommend thawing it in the fridge overnight first so you won’t burn it in the microwave.

I try to use a liner when I cook something like this that will go all day. That way I don’t have to clean. I did have this crock on for about 24 hours straight. After I got the velveeta melted, I just left it on warm at work and then brought it to my other job and left it on warm and it never burnt. The sides always burned on warm in my old crock so this is awesome!

Original (makes like 4.5ish qts)

3 cups water

1 bottle beer

4 cubes chicken bullion

1 cup onion, diced

1 cup celery, diced

1 ½ cup carrots, sliced

3 ½ – 4 cups potatoes, diced

1 # velveeta

2 cans cream of mushroom

Cook the same way, you just have less soup. Only difference I made was to use chicken broth and add a little extra bouillon instead of water and lots of bouillon. Just as I had broth and was almost out of bouillon.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Food For This Week! A Coming Attraction | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

