Homemade Spaghetti =]

Standard

I’m going to start this post off by saying I’m Italian. It may not be much (1/8) but it counts. I know how to cook more Italian food than German so I am Italian. I do not look like it until I am in the kitchen and then you will understand. A few years ago I tackled figuring out how to make my own spaghetti sauce and have been doing it ever since. As cheap and easy as it is to buy canned sauce, it is not as delicious as homemade. During the summer when I can get cheap tomatoes, I like to. However most of the time I just use canned. Use whatever type of tomatoes you like. The boy does not like chunks so we use crushed. I used to make it with 1/2 crushed, 1\2 petite diced. I prefer the second way but feel free to make it as chunky or smooth as you like. These spices are also mostly just what I start with. I usually add a little more but not too much so feel free to add a little more if it seems a little bland.

IMG_0675

Spaghetti

1 28oz Can of crushed tomatoes

1 15oz Can of crushed tomatoes

2T Garlic

2 Bay leaves

2t Oregano (I used ground)

2t Thyme (I used ground

2-3T Basil

Salt and pepper

Splash of red wine (I use cheap merlot, stale is perfect)

Spaghetti, makes enough sauce for about 3/4 of a box

1. Bring water to boil and cook spaghetti according to directions, drain

2. Bring all tomatoes, garlic, bay leave, basil, thyme, oregano, and red wine (really can’t use too much here) to a boil and turn down the heat.

IMG_0672

3. Let simmer for as long as you have. I usually just let it cook while I cook the noodles. Depends if I have something in the oven though.

4. Taste and add salt and pepper. Add any additional seasonings if necessary. I usually just add basil if it needs an extra something.

IMG_0673

5. Serve over noodles. I also served mine with Meatballs and cheesy bread

 You can also make this is a small crockpot and let it simmer all day on low or double/quadruple the recipe and make a big batch to freeze. Last time I made spaghetti sauce I made 6 qts. No shame here!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Meatballs | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

