Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins!

Standard

Tomorrow is the last day of training for the salon I work at as our new location will be opening next week! Me and the other stylists are beyond excited and ready to not have to drive way out of our way for training anymore. Two of our stylists also had birthdays last week so in celebration of our last day and being old, I decided I would make some cake! So I set to my pinterest to see what I had pinned and which recipes I actually had ingredients for. I found a recipe for Chocolate chip pumpkin bread and it called my name. It would also use the can of pumpkin which has been sitting in my cupboard for maybe two years. I won’t lie. And yes, I did check the expiration date before I used it and it was fine. I decided to make it muffin style since I got some cute muffin papers at JoAnn’s today and they would be easier for sharing. So not really cake, but it’s still delicious.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

Original Recipe

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

1/2c or 1 stick of butter, softened

1c Packed brown sugar

1/4c Sugar

3 Eggs

1t Vanilla extract

1c Pumpkin puree or approx. half a can

2c Flour, original called for whole wheat, I just used regular white

1t Baking soda

1/2t Baking powder

1/2t Salt

1t Ground cinnamon

1/4t Ground nutmeg

1c Chocolate chips, I only had about a half cup and it’s ok, defs use one cup for good chocolate distribution

Brown sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling on top

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Cream butter and sugars together until fluffy. I don’t have a fancy mixer so I just mix them with a fork and pretend I know what creamed sugar looks like. Add eggs one at a time, stirring in between

3. Add vanilla and pumpkin and stir until everything is well combined.

4. Mix up all dry ingredients in a separate bowl and then add to dough. Mix so that everything is just moistened. Stir in chocolate chips.

5. Grease muffin tin or use paper cups on a cookie sheet like me (don’t grease cups) and fill halfish-way with batter. Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon. I didn’t mix them or anything fancy, just pinched some brown sugar and sprinkled cinnamon right over it.

6. Bake 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Mine was 20 minutes on the dot.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

Lesson from today: Paper muffin cups do not hold their shape by themselves. These are some special looking muffins =]

Option: You can also make this in a bread pan like the original recipe you will just have to elongate the cooking time to 50-60 minutes

The girls at work loved these! And upon second thought, using only half the chocolate chips really wasn’t all that bad =]

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Spring Stir Fried Chicken | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

  2. Pingback: Food For the Week! | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

