Homemade Enchilada Sauce

Standard

A few months ago, I found this recipe for homemade enchilada sauce. I don’t like to use much canned but tomatoes are my one thing I almost always use canned. They are just so expensive fresh so even though this uses canned tomato sauce, I still prefer  it over canned enchilada sauce. Last time I made it, it I used fresh jalapenos, but I didn’t have any so I just didn’t use them. It’s still delicious without. I used this with Ground Beef Enchiladas, but feel free to use whatever filling you like.

IMG_0619

Original Recipe

Enchilada Sauce

1- 14 1/2oz Can of tomato sauce

Dash of salt

1 1/2T Minced garlic

1t Chili powder, add more to taste if you like it spicy

2t Cumin

1t Cayenne Powder

1. Put everything on the stove and warm it up! If it seems a little thick, you can add some water.

2. Taste it and add more cayenne or chili powder if desired

You can also make this in the crockpot and simmer on low for the day and then when you get home you have less prep work for enchiladas =]

One response »

  1. Pingback: Beef Enchiladas | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

