Exploded Chicken Kiev with Parmesean Pasta

Standard

So I had chicken Kiev at bible camp one year for our fancy dinner night and I fell in love. I used to eat the individually frozen kind all the time but they taste like chicken Kiev McNugget. Good, but the chicken part wasn’t very good. I tried to make it for dinner last night and it was delicious! The butter all did leak out of the chicken before they finished cooking but chicken cooked in butter is still good haha. Next time I will try to pound my chicken thinner instead of butterflying it since I kind of cut too much haha. I cooked this with a light pasta as I wanted something that could soak up all the buttery juices which ended up being non-existent but oh well. It still turned out delicious. The boy put hot sauce on his pasta which I’m still pondering, but whatever. If you like spicy foods, apparently this pasta tastes good with added hot sauce. And excuse the paper plate, I was feeling like no dishes =]

IMG_0593

Chicken Kiev with Parmesan Pasta

Chicken:

3 Chicken breasts, pounded thin

Dried Italian herbs (I will be trying this with different herb combos in the future)

Minced garlic

Butter, chilled and cut into a longish row like a string cheese. I used about 1T per breast

Bread crumbs

Pasta:

1/2 lb. Spaghetti

2T EVOO

1 Chicken bouillon cube

1/4c Parmesan cheese

Fresh herbs of your choosing, I used basil and oregano. You can substitute some dry if you don’t have fresh

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Once your chicken is pounded thin, sprinkle the inside with Italian herbs and some garlic. However much you like. Place butter stick in center and roll up the chicken like you would a burrito. Fold in the sides and then roll it all up so no butter comes out. At this point I like to tie them shut so they stay, I usually just use white embroidery floss.

3. Once you have all your chicken buttered and tied up, roll them in breadcrumbs and place them in a greased baking dish. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until cooked thorough.

4. Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook your noodles according to directions and drain. Return drained pasta to the stove and turn the heat to low. Add in EVOO, bouillon cube, herbs and parmesan cheese and stir until cheese is melted. Taste and add more cheese if desired. I’m honestly not sure how much cheese I used so I’m putting 1/4 cup as a starting point.

5. Now, if your chickens have not yet exploded with butter, put them on top of the pasta to cut them open so you can soak up all the juices =] Mine popped so I just poured what was in the bottom of the pan over my noodles and then my boyfriend put hot sauce on his? Yea, I’m still confused. Anyway, enjoy!

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Food for the Week =] | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

