Cajun Baby Tomato Pasta

Standard

So baby tomatoes. I’m making them a vegetable. Starting now. I bought little tomatoes at the farmer’s market this week and I’m not sure if they’re grape or cherry or some weird unknown breed of tomatoes I’m unaware of. So they are now deemed baby tomatoes. Using fresh tomatoes in pasta is one of my favorite things in the world. But I dislike the taste of fresh tomatoes by themselves so this is the perfect way to add some spice to them but still enjoy their freshness.

In the original recipe, they use cheese. I omit that completely. This recipe was more of an inspiration that anything as I barely followed it. Normally, I always use salt in my tomato sauce, however, since Cajun spice usually has a lot of salt in it, I wait until that is added and will add salt if necessary. I use Tony Chachee’s More Spicy and do not need any extra salt. Also, as far as tomatoes, I used about as many would fit in my hands if my fingers were super webbed so that the tomatoes wouldn’t fall through my fingers. I’m pretty sure it was about 2 cups or so. I used a 1qt saucepan for my tomatoes and it looked like this after they started cooking…

IMG_0571

If you like saucy pasta, I would add another cup of tomatoes.

IMG_0574

Original Recipe

Cajun Baby Tomato Pasta

6oz Dried Spaghetti

2c Baby tomatoes

1t Minced garlic

1T EVOO

1t Dried basil

Dash of black pepper

1t Cajun seasoning

1. Bring pot of water to boil and cook noodles according to directions

2. Set pot on high and add baby tomatoes. Cover and let cook until the skin pops and you can smash them

3. Turn heat down; smash tomatoes and add garlic, EVOO, basil, pepper, and Cajun seasoning. Start off small with the Cajun seasoning, you can always add more. Let simmer while pasta finishes cooking.

4. Drain pasta and serve topped with tomatoes

Leave a Reply

