Spicy Sausage Pasta

Standard

So I haven’t cooked in about a week. I feel so weird, like a piece of me is missing. I found that piece today. It was my entire kitchen. It fell out of my heart and right to the front of the house. Luckily, it’s back in my heart where it belongs =] Luckily the boy took decently good care of my while my heart was empty. Brought me Gatorade when I was dehydrated and didn’t complain about the immense amount of soup I ate in bed. He did steal some of the ciabatta bread I bought though. I don’t blame him, it was roasted garlic flavored and DELICIOUS!!

I worked a ton today, well lots of manual labor at work by myself so I needed something low maintenance and this fit the bill. I’ve made this before as written and it’s great. Today I halved it so if you want to feed more than 2, double it. I also thought I had rotel tomatoes. I didn’t. I had tomatoes with chipotles! It was still delicious but a little spicy for me.

IMG_0570

Original Recipe

Spicy Sausage Pasta

1T EVOO

1/2 Package of kielbasa sausage

1/2 Onion, diced

1T Minced garlic

1c Chicken broth

1/2 Can Rotel tomatoes

1/4c Milk

4oz Penne

Dash of pepper

1/2c Monterey or Colby Jack cheese, shredded

1 slice Pepper jack cheese

Green onions

1. Heat EVOO in pan and add onions, sausage, and garlic. Brown just a few minutes or until onions just start to soften

2. Add chicken broth, rotel, milk, pepper, and penne. Bring to a boil and cover. Cook until pasta is tender. I did have to add a little more water at the end as the noodles weren’t quite soft but had soaked up all the liquid.

3. Stir in Colby jack cheese until melted. You can either broil the pepper jack cheese on top, or cut it in strips and stir it in. I stirred mine in. Add in a few green onions and give it a good stir!

Leave a Reply

