Beef (or Mushroom) Bourguignon

Standard

Bourguignon is one of my favorite savory dishes. Well anything with sauce and egg noodles is pretty much my favorite dish. Yummy. Now my mouth is watering. Anyway, the boy was away buying a boat over the weekend so I splurged and ate a whole pack of mushrooms over 24 hours since he hates them. So I figured I would make him something super delicious when he came back and this is what came to mind. I got the super approval from him, he didn’t even add hotsauce! (That is a big accomplishment, fyi) The original recipe calls for mushrooms, but the real dish is beef. I’ve made it with just mushrooms before and loved it so I switched it up this time. It is a little time consuming, but worth it.

IMG_0565

Don’t forget to wipe the drool off your keyboard.

Original Recipe

Beef Bourguignon

3T Butter

1lb, Steak, sliced thin (Sub mushrooms, sliced, for vegetarian)

1/2 Carrot, minced

1/2 Onion, minced

2T Minced garlic

1c Red wine, I used merlot

2c Veggie broth, I use Better Than Bouillon

2T Tomato paste

1t Fresh thyme or 1/2t dried

1 1/2T Flour

Egg Noodles

1. Melt 2T butter in pan and add onion, carrot, garlic, thyme, and a shake of salt and pepper. Saute on low heat until carrots are softened.

2. Add wine and turn the heat up. Reduce the liquid by half

3. Bring pot of water to a boil and cook egg noodles while everything is simmering.

4. Stir in tomato paste and broth and let simmer 20 minutes. Meanwhile, cook the steak the way you like, I sauté mine in a pan. I also leave it a little rare so it cooks in the sauce later when you add it.

5. Melt 1T butter and add flour to it. Stir into sauce and let simmer to thicken. Add steak at this point so it can absorb some flavor.

6. Serve sauce and steak over egg noodles and top with chopped chives and parsley. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. This was so AWESOME! We didn’t have red wine or merlot so I substituted some sweet asian cooking wine, 1/4 c cranberry juice and 2 T apple cider vinegar.

  2. Pingback: Food For the Week! | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

