One Pot Pastas!

Standard

So the boy and I were actually hungry at a normal time when we made this so I was so excited with how quick it came together! This is also the first time I got to use the fresh herbs I’ve been growing in my garden and it was delicious! While I was making food, I also heard some glass break. We’re a little clumsy over here so I didn’t think too much of it until I saw what had actually happened…

IMG_0533

All of the windows in the house were painted shut by the previous owner (stupid) and the boy was really feeling the need for a breeze so he was kicking the frame to try to loosen it up. And, well, he missed. Kicked the window right out. I had to play medic and everything by getting the glass out of his foot. And now it’s taped with packing tape all homeless style. Because there was no fixing it. Trust me, he tried.

IMG_0534

On to food! I’ve made this one pot pasta before the way it directs only halved because I didn’t need to feed anyone but myself. This time I tweaked it so it would be more saucy and less chunky and it was perfect! I also used fresh herbs but you can use any variety of dried Italian herbs (basil, thyme, oregano, bay leaf, etc.) that you have on hand, just add them in the beginning instead of the end.

Original Recipe

One Pot Italian Pasta

1/2 Box spaghetti

1 Can (15ish ounces) crushed tomatoes

1/2 Onion, minced or diced (the smaller the cut, the quicker they cook)

2T Minced garlic

1c Vegetable broth (can use chicken or beef instead)

5 Basil leaves, chopped

1T Fresh Cuban oregano, chopped

1. Put everything in the pot except basil and oregano

2. Cook until sauce has reduced almost to your liking and noodles are al dente

3. Add basil and oregano and cook until noodle are soft and sauce is reduced to your liking. About five minutes for me =]

Also, I forgot to take an after picture as we were super hungry, but here’s a midway picture! This is right before I added the herbs. The smokey/steam effect was totally on purpose….

IMG_0532

Leave a Reply

