Grilled Citrus Dill Shrimp

Standard

Every Saturday in Baton Rouge there is an awesome farmer’s market downtown and I pretty much only venture on the outside. On one end is a woman selling fresh shrimp, YUMM, and on the other are two vendors with plants. Herbs, trees, vegetable, flowers: most anything I can think of. Occasionally, I’ll find some great vegetables in the middle, but most of them are weird Southern vegetables that I’m not used to. Like Okra. Gross. Yes, I’ve tried it. No, I do not like it. But I got some zucchini last week for 50 cents a piece and have been using them with everything. I discovered I love them julienned and used as noodles, so that’s what I’ve been doing.

Anyway, back to shrimp. We got a pound of fresh shrimp last weekend and the boy wanted to grill them in something citrus-y. So I set out to find a marinade that I could later turn into a sauce to put over my julienned Zucchini (see, it was relevant) and he could put over his rice. I found this recipe and it was a winner! I tweaked it, of course, but here is the original and what I did to make it extra delicious!

Original Recipe

Yes, the original recipe calls for chicken, but I don’t like to follow rules, so I used shrimp.

2013-10-01_21-31-02_804

I did sub out the onions and used green onions as they are abundant in my herb garden right now and the boy doesn’t like regular onions (weirdo). I also doubled the lemon juice per the reviews but also added lime juice. I used two small lemons and two small limes. I have no idea the actual measurements were, but it looked to be about 1T of juice coming from each fruit. So here is my recipe for it =]

Grilled Citrus Dill Shrimp

1lb Shrimp, peeled and deveined

Sauce:

3t EVOO

6 Sprigs of green onion, chopped

4t Minced garlic (refrigerated kind is what I use)

1T Dried dill

2 Small lemons, juiced

2 Small limes, juiced

1c Chicken broth

2t Flour

1. Mix together the oil, green onion, garlic, dill, lemon juice, and lime juice and pour into a Ziploc or Tupperware with your shrimp to marinate. Let marinate about 30 minutes. We just let ours sit until the grill was heated up

2. Once the shrimp has marinated, push it onto skewers for the grill. We fit 5 shrimp on each skewer perfectly. Go put the shrimp on the grill and grill until the shrimp are opaque and looks delicious. About 5 minutes per side, depending how hot your grill is.

3. While the shrimp is cooking, quickly pour the leftover marinade into a pot and add chicken broth and flour. Bring to a boil and let boil while the shrimp cooks to thicken it up a little.

4. Serve shrimp drizzled with extra sauce and we sided it with rice and zucchini and it was delicious!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Zucchini and Carrot Lemon Soup | AnnaleciaIsAwesome

Leave a Reply

