Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Mango Peach Salsa

Standard

Ok, after being in Louisiana and being able to get fresh seafood, I am a little deprived being back in the Midwest. Ok, really deprived. That is, until I found out that my favorite discount grocery store, Aldi, sells shrimp. And they’re the cheapest I could find. AND my grandma voted them the second best she’s ever had. Only second to the ones I made on Christmas that were fresh from LA. They aren’t harvested in the US which kind of sucks, but they taste super freaking delicious. So I made them into tacos!

I also made this awesome fruit salsa that no one believed would taste good. After letting it sit in the fridge for like an hour, I tried to get my family to taste it and they all looked at me weird. Like I was ET or something. And then they all loved it on the tacos! I served them with some awesome Grilled Veggies too for my veggie sister, but I will now be making them all the time, cause they were yummy.

Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Peach Mango Salsa

Original Recipe

Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Mango Peach Salsa

1 1/2lbs Raw shrimp, peeled and deveined

1T Old Bay type seasoning, I used an off brand cause that’s what was in the cupboard

1T Garlic salt

1T Pepper

2-3T Lime juice

Tortillas

Any other fixings you might want, but I didn’t use any

Salsa:

2 Peaches

1 Mango

1/2 Onion

12ish Cherry tomatoes

1 Jalapeno, seeded

1T Lime juice

2T Sugar

Salt and pepper to taste

1. Early in the day or the night before, prep your salsa so the flavors have time to blend. It’s pretty tricky. Chop up all the fruit and veggies and put it in a bowl. Add the lime, sugar, and salt and pepper and pop it in the fridge to chill

2. Marinate shrimp in old bay, garlic salt, and pepper. I do this while the grill heats up

3. Right before you put the shrimp on the grill, toss them with the lime juice

4. You can either skewer the shrimp if they’re big enough, or use a grill tray thingy to cook the shrimp on. I opted for the tray since I was making a lot of shrimp. Make sure you spray the tray with nonstick before putting the shrimp on it so they don’t get stuck

5. Grill the shrimp just long enough so that they turn pink and opaque. You can flip them if you want, but I figure, you don’t flip meat in the oven usually, so why do it on the grill. It’s just an outside oven.

6. Assemble tacos with the fruit salsa and whatever else you crave and enjoy!

Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Peach Mango Salsa

Shameless sneak peak of Grilled Veggies 😉

Grilled Shrimp Tacos with Peach Mango Salsa

Leave a comment